Welcome to the online shop of

Beyond Notes

Saeed Habibzadeh Beyond Notes - Ornament
Saeed Habibzadeh Beyond Notes - Cover Di


Die Suche



Saeed Habibzadeh


Year of publication




Anne-Sophie Mutter





Beyond Notes Music Publishing


String quartet, 6 movements



Violin I, violin II, viola, violoncello


Score format

Study score DIN A4,

Instrumental parts, Bach format

(230 x 305 mm)


Playing time

approx. 09:00 min


Order options

Available for ordering from May/June 2021 on here


I had been pursuing the musical theme of this piece for a long time. But the idea of ​​composing a quartet from it, was an unplanned and sudden inspiration. The notation was completely finished within two weeks.

Die Suche was composed at the time of the coronavirus crisis in Germany at the beginning of 2021. Desperation and the search for solutions and ways out were common. Nevertheless, my inspiration was not only about the collective search, but also portraying it in personal life. The four instruments in particular, embody different momentums in the human search for something that he cannot define. Something that gives us peace when we find it. A home, the love of our life, the meaning of life or whatever moves us to look for it.

The technical challenge is not the only one in performing this work. Reproducing the hidden feelings and states in this music is the far greater challenge.

Saeed Habibzadeh
May 2021