String quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Violoncello)


I had been pursuing the musical theme of this piece for a long time. But the idea of composing specifically a quartet from it, was an unplanned and sudden inspiration. The notation was fully completed within two weeks.

Die Suche was composed in the middle of the coronavirus crisis in Germany at the beginning of 2021. Desperation and the search for solutions and ways out were enormous. Nevertheless, my inspiration was not only to portray the collective search, but also the search in personal life. We are searching for something that gives us peace when we find it. We are searching for a home, the love of our life, the meaning of life, fulfilment, destiny or for something we cannot define. The four instruments in particular embody and tell us about the different directions of the human search.

For me, it is not a special achievement to burden the musicians with technically complicated phrases just to distinguish oneself. Those who focus on form have little or no content to offer. That is why it is a real challenge in my music to express the true content in the form of feelings, stories and human conditions. Composing or playing notes is not the purpose of music, especially not complicated compositions. True music is simple and sincere and flows from heart to heart. Serving this flow is the greatest challenge of any true musician, which he can only meet with love and devotion.

The invisible string of these feelings and thoughts leads to a musical level that very few musicians ever reach. At this place my soul meets people like Anne-Sophie Mutter. To her this work is dedicated from the heart. Because she never left this place of divine music for the glamour of this world. May it be a joy to her.

Saeed Habibzadeh
June 2021

Die Suche - String quartet

VAT Included |
  • Title: Die Suche

    Composer: Saeed Habibzadeh

    Opus: 8

    Publisher: Beyond Notes Music Publishing

    Published: July 2021

    Instrumentation: String quartet

    Key: C-minor

    Dedicated to: Anne-Sophie Mutter

    Playing time: ca. 9:00 min

    Bars: 311

    Pages: 28 (Score), 8 (Violin I), 8 (Violin II), 12 (Viola), 8 (Violoncello)

    Edition: 1.

    Score format: Softcover

    Height: 30,5 cm

    Width: 23,0 cm

    Weight: 290 g

    Order Number: BNSH 08-D

    ISBN: 978-3-96974-222-8

    ISMN: 979-0-50293-222-0